Voting rights for non-Dutch nationals

  • Non-Dutch nationals who are of age (18 or over) and who have been living in the Netherlands for at least 5 years (with a residence permit) are allowed to vote in municipal elections.
  • Citizens of European Union (EU) member states can vote in municipal council and European Parliament elections immediately upon moving to the Netherlands.
  • In addition to Dutch nationals, all non-Dutch nationals legally residing in the Netherlands may also vote in district water board elections.

Anybody with the right to vote can (in principle) also be elected themselves.

–> Read more about voting rights for non-Dutch nationals